The world loves Obama and hates Jesus

Posted on Updated on

All I heard the day after the election was, “It’s historical, it’s historical!” But all I was thinking was. “It’s hysterical, it’s hysterical!” Which one is it; historical because the first black man has become President or hysterical because of the religious fervor created by the symbolism?

What guides my political, social, economical, and spiritual beliefs is my faith. I bring every decision to the cross. Before being an American, my income or my friends comes Christ.  Before I submit to the strong symbolism of having an articulate, intelligent charismatic black man leading this nation I will bring that symbolism to the cross. I do not belong to the black race, I belong to the race of Christ!

There is a difference between searching the bible and studying the bible. Some folks search the bible for passages agreeing with their personal views. They look for the bible to agree with them. But to study the bible allows the truths to guide your life no matter where it leads or how others perceive you.

I grew up in the middle of the Civil Rights Movement. I marched, protested and confronted this government for my rights. I have known discrimination and I recognize how far we have come. I have always known how far we have come.

I remember watching television as a very young child when pregnant women could not be shown with large bellies. Since most of the women on television were white, I thought pregnant white women did not show when pregnant. It was symbolism.

As a teenager it was exciting news to see a black couple dancing on American Bandstand. To see black people operating in mainstream America was new and encouraging. But I also remembered having to swim in the creek instead of the community pool and even the cops and teachers called me racial slurs. Those are also strong symbols from the past.

We who actually lived through the Civil Rights Movement are seeing the rights of all disappearing. Eminent domain is gone and your home can be taken for a shopping center. The second amendment guarantees “someone” gun rights “with no infringement” but who? Americans are being stopped on freeways to check their citizenship, and being put before grand juries for indictment without any evidence, as in the Duke Rape case. This new generation seems only interested in the symbolic, feel-good measure of seeing a black President.

So, what are my Christian responses to Obama? How do we address the worldwide emotional excitement over the mere possibilities? I Cor. 3:18 – “Let no man deceive himself. If any man among you seemeth to be wise in this world, let him become a fool (let him reject worldly wisdom and accept Godly wisdom), that he may be wise.”

The world gets really excited about the intelligence and wisdom of leaders. They fell safe with those they consider smarter and wiser. But God does not consider them higher than others.

Matthew 24:24, “…if  it were  possible, they shall deceive the very elect.” We should recognize that we can be deceived. We humans must admit how we can look upon something and be totally misguided and will buy total disaster because it looks like a great opportunity. We cannot depend upon our wisdom, feelings, hopes, desires or leadership. The government is far too important to leave to politicians.

Since we know we can be deceived, what should we do? I am going to scripture to get some indication of when I should pause and pray.

One thing is clear; the world loves Obama. “If you were of the world, the world would love you as its own; but because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you.”(John 15:18-19 ESV)  From foreign leaders to massive crowds in France and Germany, the world truly loves him. That is enough to give me pause. If the world hates Christ and loves Barrack, should that worry you? It does me.

One thought on “The world loves Obama and hates Jesus

    Russ said:
    November 11, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    Well said. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

